Birchbox UK Review May 2016

My May Birchbox is for the Dreamers, a box designed around dreams whatever that dream might be!

Birchbox UK Review May 2016

I had completely missed that this box had a scratch coating hiding the design until I read the little info sheet.

Birchbox UK Review May 2016

As soon as I realised this quirky idea was used in this months Birchbox I took a coin and got scratching.

Birchbox UK Review May 2016

If you have this months box then it is definitely something that you have to do, not only to reveal the beautiful design but also because two lucky subscribers will have a message underneath letting them know – ‘You’ve won a dream holiday’.

Birchbox UK Review May 2016

Birchbox UK Review May 2016

This months box features 6 different items, one of which is full sized and the rest are all samples.

Birchbox UK Review May 2016

The full sized item is the Spectrum Collections unicorn tears wonder sponge. RRP £4.99. This item is similar to the beauty blender in size/shape/colour but has a different texture and feels more dense and tough. Dampen before use with cream, mineral or liquid formulas.

Birchbox UK Review May 2016

theBalm cosmetics Stainiac in Beauty Queen is a raspberry tinted, long lasting cheek and lip stain. The sample size is 0.04 oz, full size is £10 for 0.3z. It is a lovely travel size and has quite a thick consistency for a stain. It isn’t as dark as in the tube or as pigmented as I had expected but is buildable. I have only used it a little but I like it so far, a nice raspberry pink on the lips, slightly drying but a lovely stain.

Birchbox UK Review May 2016

Other samples include Philip Kingsley PK Prep Polishing Balm RRP £18.50 for 75ml, sample size 20ml. This is used on damp hair to remove frizz. I have used Philip Kingsley products in the past and either love them or hate them so I will have to see how I feel about this new product.

Birchbox UK Review May 2016

Next is the  Caudalie Vinosource Moisturising Sorbet RRP £23 for 40ml, sample size 10ml. Caudalie has some lovely products, with great, gentle aromas. This one is grape scented and smells delicious and is a very light, hydrating sorbet.

Birchbox UK Review May 2016

Rituals Tao Wai Wang Mild Exfoliating Body Scrub RRP £19.50 for 325ml, sample size 70ml. Massage this into damp skin and wash away. This body scrub has ultra fine Chinese bamboo particles and white lotus, these ingredients sound amazing so I cannot wait to try it out!

Birchbox UK Review May 2016

A small extra in the box is the coconut oil from Vita Coco, a tiny 5ml sample to test out. I love coconut oil for my hair and skin but I would recommend a different brand, KTC, that you can find in the foreign food sections for around £1.50 – £2.25 at Sainsbury’s and Tesco.

See past Birchbox subscription months here.

Mary Oliver

Mary 24 CRAFTY CREATIVE CLUMSY UK beauty, fashion, lifestyle blogger and vlogger I started this blog in summer 2013 to create my own little space to write relatable content on my personal style for the everyday girl. Yorkshire based lover of tea, floral prints and skater dresses.